News Technology

Tejas Now in IAF

Tejas Now in IAF
Written by Sumit Kumar

Two Tejas fighter planes on Friday were inducted into the Indian Air Force (IAF). These are 10 things to know about our Tejas:

  1. State-run HAL handed over the first two Tejas aircraft to IAF at a ceremony preceded by inter-faith prayers at the Aircraft System Testing Establishment in Bengaluru.
  2. The Tejas squadron has been named the ‘Flying Daggers’.
  3. Group Captain M Rangachari will be the first Commanding Officer of the ‘Flying Daggers’ squadron. He will have seven officers under him initially, 42 air warriors and about 20 non-commissioned officers.
  4. Six more Tejas jets will be added to the squadron by the end of this financial year.
  5. The aircraft was named “Tejas” (meaning radiance in Sanskrit) by Atal Bihari Vajpayee when he was the Prime Minister.
  6. Tejas fighters enter Air Force 33 years after the project was conceived.
  7. The ‘Flying Daggers’ squadron will be based in Bengaluru for the first two years before it is moved to Sulur in Tamil Nadu.
  8. All squadrons of Tejas will be made up of 20 planes in total, including four in reserve.
  9. The upgraded version of Tejas, with Active Electrically Scanned Array Radar, Unified Electronic Warfare Suite, mid-air refuelling capacity and advanced beyond the vision range missiles, will cost between Rs 275 crore and Rs 300 crore.
  10. Tejas will eventually replace the ageing fleet of MiG-21 planes.

Source Link :

About the author

Sumit Kumar

Hello Readers! Sumit Kumar is the author of “Blogger Mash” and a SEO Analyst from last 5 years. His blog Blogger Mash covers Indian & International culture, food, nature, news & updates. I have been writing this blog since 2016. When I started writing I had no idea, how this would evolve, but over the many times my two passions dominated this blog: Travelling and Foods. Over time, I also started writing for Internet Marketing – a list can be seen on the categories list.

All for Joomla All for Webmasters